PDA

View Full Version : Mobile Network

turtle
2016-09-04, 21:24
Maybe I'm over thinking this but I want help to nail down some specifics.

The 10,000 foot overview is I want a network that is cellular capable and also able to bring true networking for macOS, iOS and tvOS devices while in a vehicle or a hotel room.

As an admin I have certain specifics I'd like in a network. Basically I want to be able to have a standalone network that can either have cellular capabilities or not. When in the car my kids can connect their iPads to the same network and be able to play games like Terraria without fuss. I would name the mobile network the same as my home network SSID. When we go on road trips or a vacation at a hotel/campgroud we can have the network there.

Ideally at that point the network would connect to available WiFi hotspots so we all share that connection. When that isn't available we can always go cellular. At least, that is what I would like to do.

I have done similar with plugging my iPhone into my MBP and then sharing the cellular -> USB connection via the Macs WiFi. This isn't ideal in a car (or RV should I, finally, actually get one one day).

In the day to day, I'm more thinking about the times we spend what seems like all day in the car around town running errands or just being away from home driving from place to place.

Currently I have this TrendNet TEW-654T (http://amzn.to/2cribue) that works great for making the mobile network on the go, but I've not been able to get it to do what I'm after. The WiFi repeater thing seems like it's the hardest part to figure out for this kind of device because it would need two sets of WiFi hardware to handle the LAN and WAN at the same time.