PDA

View Full Version : PB RAM Buying Advice needed

intlplby
2005-02-06, 19:12
i am looking to buy a 1GB SODIMM for my 12" powerbook to replace the 512GB stick in it at the moment and i have one question.

if a G5 powerbook came out would it most likely use the same type of RAM as my 12 inch powerbook (same size format and speed) or would it use a different type of RAM ?

i want be able to take this 1GB and stick it in a G5 PB when they finally come out without having a 1GB which might be a bottleneck for in comparison to the built in powerbook RAM

also..... is there any real difference in the cheaper 1GB sticks from a place like memorytogo.com in comparison to a place like crucial..... i know crucial is the better known brand, but there is a huge difference in price

ar1550
2005-02-06, 20:56
I'm very new to the Mac world (I'm getting my first as soon as Apple ships it), so someone correct me if I'm wrong.
The G5 runs at a much higher FSB than the G4, and uses significantly faster RAM. The current G4 Powerbooks use PC2700 (*CORRECTED*), which is pretty much the slowest DDR RAM you can get; I don't know what the G5 uses. If you buy ram that is much faster than what the PB G4 can take advantage of, it may be useable later, but obviously no guarantees. Most ram will run just fine at slower speeds than it is rated.
Going with dirt-cheap ram is rarely a good deal, as it can be unstable. I've head on various forums that Apple computer are even more sensitive in this way than PCs, so it's likely any no-name ram you go with will cause more headaches than the savings are worth.

Jay
2005-02-06, 21:17