PDA

View Full Version : 64 or 128MB VideoMem on new PB


stephanb
2005-02-23, 20:10
For faster graphics performance and support of the 30-inch Apple Cinema HD Display, the 1.67GHz, 15-inch PowerBook G4 model can be upgraded to 128MB of video memory (DDR SDRAM) with dual link DVI functionality.

I am considering buying a 15" fully loaded PB within the next few weeks or so. I wonder if it is worth the extra $100 to get 128MB of video memory compared to the standard 64. I am an Apple newbie; do I need the extra memory? I am already going to add an additional 1GB to the 512MB it comes with., and I sure as h*ll don't need this card because of the dual link functionality because it will take a loooong time for me to even consider buying the 30" screen (no need for it).

Any thoughts on this?

Luca
2005-02-23, 20:39
128 MB might be nice, but I don't think it'll drastically change performance. Generally, 64 MB is a good amount of VRAM if you're only driving the built-in screen since the resolution isn't too high. The only area where the amount of VRAM will make a big difference is the smoothness of Exposť, various visual effects in Tiger, and certain graphics-heavy applications like Motion and most 3D games. It sounds like you won't be doing much beyond the first two uses there, and for those the 64 MB would be fine. It'll certainly be nice to have 128 MB, but there probably isn't enough of a difference to notice in most situations.

Anyway, welcome to the forums! Oh and you don't have to censor yourself here... we won't think less of you if you just type out "hell." ;)

stephanb
2005-02-23, 20:52
Anyway, welcome to the forums! Oh and you don't have to censor yourself here... we won't think less of you if you just type out "hell." ;)

Thanks :D It's a habit more then anything. I have to admit that I like smooth graphics and slick design tricks and tweaks. Just for that alone I would probably spend the additional $100. After all what is $100 on a $3000 laptop right? I'm just wondering if this dual dvi card will clutter up my future PB with a second DVI port I will never use and if anybody has anything negative to say about possibly noticable power comsumption and the like.

-Stephan

Paul
2005-02-23, 21:39
:lol:
there is only one DVI port....

"Dual-link" refers to the type of port, not the number. ;)

stephanb
2005-02-23, 21:48
:lol:
there is only one DVI port....

Shit ... I knew I would screw up eventually once I stepped on Apple territory, but I didn't think it would be THIS early already :err:

Thanks ;)

Paul
2005-02-23, 23:26
no worries... good clean fun for all. :)
Besides, we all had to learn this things at some point.

macgeek2004
2005-02-24, 16:55
Hey, i wouldn't get 128MB it makes no difference at all. My G4 tower has 64MB and it runs all games incredibly, expose and all that stuff couldn't be smoother.



oh, and by the way, can somebody make it so i can post new threads again?

Thanks

curiousuburb
2005-02-24, 17:10
The "Similar Threads" link at the bottom of this page will point you at a prior discussion of the same topic, including the obligatory reference (http://forums.applenova.com/showthread.php?postid=162527#post162527) to Barefeats test on the subject.

VRAM cannot be upgraded after purchase...
investing another Franklin future-proofs your investment a little longer.

stephanb
2005-02-24, 22:50
I'll take the $100 add-on. No doubts anymore. Thanks all!

However, reading that other thread made me think of who all I know in states that have no sales tax :cool:
</end>

Paul
2005-02-24, 22:54
oh, and by the way, can somebody make it so i can post new threads again?

Thanks

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

macgeek2004
2005-02-24, 23:33
I must post new threads. Can somebody unlock it or sumthin?

stephanb
2005-02-25, 08:40
I must post new threads. Can somebody unlock it or sumthin?

.... must .... post ... new ... threads .... WHOAAAAAAAAAAAA :lol: