PDA

View Full Version : Returning after 10 years to Mac's What should I get

harrisw1
2005-02-25, 12:46
Hi All,

I havent owned a Mac for about 10 years, and after seeing all the improvments in the OS, I think I am ready to return. Lets say I have $1500 bucks to spend, what should I get?

I have fond memories of my Power Book Duo 280c (It still works by the way), so I was thinking about a PowerBook, is there a big performance difference between the G4 and G5? Should I wait for the G5 Powerbooks to come out?

Should I consider an iMac? (My old Mac Plus still works too :) ).

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

PS

Some of the things I would like to do with my new mac:
Internet Usage - Browsing & Email
Standard Desktop word processing and spreadsheet work
Itunes for my Ipod
Some Games
The ability to run Unix and Linux Applications- I work as a Info Security Consultant so I would like to run Nessus and Kismet ....
Portability would be nice
Maybe the ability to run Virtual PC
Maybe using it as a Personal Video Recorder.
I am also really interested in the BSD underpinnings of OSX, and the ability to use the command line.

HW

torifile
2005-02-25, 12:53
First, welcome to AppleNova and back to the Mac!

Second, there's no real way for us to recommend something to you without knowing what you're going to be using it for and how important things like portability, screen space, etc. are to you. Give us an idea of what you plan to do and we'll lead you to the Promised Land. ;)

harrisw1
2005-02-25, 13:04
Some of the things I would like to do with my new mac:
Internet Usage - Browsing & Email
Standard Desktop word processing and spreadsheet work
Itunes for my Ipod
Some Games
The ability to run Unix and Linux Applications- I work as a Info Security Consultant so I would like to run Nessus and Kismet ....
Portability would be nice
Maybe the ability to run Virtual PC
Maybe using it as a Personal Video Recorder.