PDA

View Full Version : Freelance Video Editor NEEDS HELP!

chaos123x
2005-03-15, 18:27
Ok so I am a Freelance video editor and intend to buy a MAC to replace my old outdated windows/ Adobe Premiere system.

I plan to run Production Suite (FCP,DVDstudioPro, Motion) and Adobe Aftereffects and Photshop on the new computer.

But I have reached a problem.... I can't decide between a 17inch Powerbook or a dual 2.5 powermac.

The Powerbook would be perfect for freelance work, because I could take with me to clients places and make changes on the spot... and burn DVD copies on the spot too! I also could load footage onto my powerbook so I dont have to take the videotapes with me. The only thing is that the Powerbook is really underpowered compared to the desktop g5.. If I am going to spend 3grand+ for a computer I want it to last! I dont wanna buy the powerbook and then 3 months down the road the Mac Mini has a faster Processer than my book,,, and then I am still in debt to the powerbook.

The PowerMAc G5 is indeed a powerful system and I will save much rendering times and have less headaches with the full blown system... I think with the powermac I would be safe to run all my pro apps on it for the next couple of years. I think the Powermac would be able to handle the very long format edits I do and the multiple graphics and video layers. But then I can't take the Powermac anywhere it has to stay at home. (can't have clients at my house because I'm young and live at home)

I can't decide on which one I get... I keep flip floping on which one to get.. There are so many adavantages and diasadvantages to both.. anybody else have a problem choosing like this?? what did you decide? How did that work out? anyone have any advice?

I am going to wait to see if Tiger comes out in April and then make my decsion by then... The only other thing I could do is keep hoping and praying the mythical Powerbook G5 comes out before I make my purchase.