PDA

View Full Version : The Smell of Plastic...

kraig911
2004-06-16, 16:30
I Love it... does anyone have a lot of new cd's or computer parts that I could open for you? or am I going to have to go spray canned air around the place again...

Wrao
2004-06-16, 16:32
I can wiggle my little toe independently from all my other toes.

Wickers
2004-06-16, 17:56
Me too!!!!!

I love the 'new computer' smell.

I fix and build computers for a living. . . everytime I build a new system I always take a deep breath after opening the anti-static bags. I don't know why I like the smell.

Odd eh?

Windswept
2004-06-16, 18:05
Okay, I like the smell of fresh plastic too.

This started when I was a kid and covered my school books in some green plastic stuff sold off a big roll at a fabric store.

I don't know why I liked the smell so much, but I did.

Now, I like the smell in the center of expensive new hardback books with glossy pages. What a great smell that is.

Of course, 'new car' smell is always fantastic too. :)

Mac+
2004-06-16, 18:30
It could be something to do with memory triggering ... like the fact that when we were kids (and still now, I'm sure) a new gift was something exciting and was associated with a happy occasion, such as a birthday, for example. Maybe that is why we "dig" that brand new plastic smell ... mmm plasticy goodness. :lol:

As for that new car smell, I love it too. In fact, I tried to preserve it as much as I could by instigating a no fast food policy in the car. I'm actually quite happy about that one. :D

Oh, and btw, you can buy those "new car smell" air freshener trees (to hang in the car), but I don't think they smell anything like a real new car smell. My personal favourite is the vanillla tree... oh the irony, I like to smell fake vanilla as opposed to fake car. ;) :shrugs:

Quagmire
2004-06-16, 23:20
How about the smell of new aluminum from the powerbooks? When I got mine new it smelled wonderful.

HOM
2004-06-16, 23:43