PDA

View Full Version : A small mic to tape lectures on PB

SlackerDX
2005-04-15, 13:14
Hi everyone. I am a student and I have a 15" Powerbook. I take it to class each day. I would like to find a discrete mic so that I can record the lectures. I've seen people using small microphones on iPods and want something similar. Will that one work on a Powerbook?

Also, have they come out with decent BT headphones yet? I'd like to take advantage of the Bluetooth 2.0 the Powerbook came with...

eleazar
2005-04-15, 14:17
is there any reason that you don't just use the built in mic?

I Thrash Therefore I Am
2005-04-15, 14:25
built in mic works great, but I use my iSight and record my lectures in iMovie. After the exam I burn em to a dvd. Definetly helps more than just recording.

ghoti
2005-04-15, 14:43
The problem is that the PB (at least the 12" one) doesn't have a microphone input, only line in. So you would need a "powered" microphone, which is probably a bit less discrete. As for BT, I don't know if there is any normal BT audio hardware, except from BT headsets (which would probably not work too well for your purposes).

Performa636CD
2005-04-15, 15:49
how much video can you record into iMovie? With my iSight i could only record 13 min or so before the recording just stopped. i assumed it was because i ran out of RAM or whatever. also, the video file when done recording was HUGE, like 1.5 gigs for only 13 minutes

Kickaha
2005-04-15, 15:50
Nope, not RAM, it's that iMovie (being a 32-bit app) can't handle more than 2GB of memory at a time.

Kiren
2005-04-15, 16:11
Actually the 12" powerbook does hace a mic built-in, although I can't speak for how well it would record lectures as I've only used it to play with speakable items.

BlueRabbit
2005-04-15, 16:32
Actually the 12" powerbook does hace a mic built-in, although I can't speak for how well it would record lectures as I've only used it to play with speakable items.