PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice on a used iBook

Luffal
2005-04-22, 20:10
Hey all,

I am looking for some advice on purchasing an iBook. A friend of mine is selling his iBook. It is a 600MHz G3 with 120MB Ram. It has a 18GB hard drive, DVD player, CD-RW. It also has an wireless AirPort card. He is asking $400 for it. It has NeoOffice and FireFox on it. He also has it upgraded to the latest system version (OSX10.3.9)

I am new to Mac and have mostly PCs in the past. I have a desktop Wintel system that will probably stay my primary system. I am looking to pick up a laptop because I typically have to travel a bit for personal reasons. I'm currently in school and need to keep up on classwork. Most of the classwork involves accessing class sites via the web and used of a word processor. So I'm primarily looking for a decent 2nd device.

I like the feel of the iBook. I have two concerns before I make the purchase:

1. My big concerns is that I know this is older technology and I'm concerned about the upcoming release of the Tiger OS and the long-term viability of the machine. Realistically, how many years of useful service can I expect to get?

2. Is $400 a fair price. It sounds right if I were to look at an equivalent windows laptop but I'm not sure, since this is my first mac, whether that is a fair assessment?

What do you guys think?

Thanks,

Ed

scrouds
2005-04-26, 14:27