PDA

View Full Version : mac mini, emac? i need help

i need help
2005-04-24, 14:37
Hey all,
I'm brand new to the world of macs and have basically decided to switch from a pc to a mac. I needed help in deciding which is right for me though. I guess my budget is between the mac mini and emac range, and i just wanted to know which is a better computer for the value. I have the display for the mac mini, but i would not mind replacing it if i got an emac. However i would have to buy a a new keyboard/mouse with either machine. I would probably go for the 1.42 mac mini, with a 512mb upgrade; and a combo drive emac with a 512 mb also, i would need a wireless internet card in both though. Im not too heavy of a comp. user, mostly internet, light music downloads, word processing (im a high school student), and a few other jobs here and ther. ANy comments would be appreciated, tell me if you need more info too.

Also, i've heard rumors that a new emac is coming out within the next week or so (with the release of tiger), can anyone really validate this?

Wickers
2005-04-24, 15:22
Also, i've heard rumors that a new emac is coming out within the next week or so (with the release of tiger), can anyone really validate this?

... No.

That's why it's a rumor. :p

groverat
2005-04-24, 15:25
I recommend the mini. You already have a display and it will likely last longer than your computer.

All-in-ones are largely useless, IMO.
It's going to be a sad day for a lot of iMac users when their machine is just too slow and they have to get rid of the beautiful 20" LCD along with it.

Luca
2005-04-24, 15:34
I'd also go for the mini. Even if your current display sucks, hopefully you can either use the savings vs. the eMac to buy a new one, or you can just save up and use your current one until you can afford a better one. 17" LCDs are getting really cheap these days... you should be able to get one for just a little over $200 now.