PDA

View Full Version : What OS are ya runnin'?

Neø
2004-06-21, 13:36
Windows 98 fer me, :rolleyes:
what 'bout you?
OS X? :cool:

-Neø

Powerdoc
2004-06-21, 13:43
Panther

Brad
2004-06-21, 14:09
This thread deserves a poll. SO IT SHALL BE DONE.

SilentEchoes
2004-06-21, 14:27
Panther all the way. Well all the way up until they release Tiger.

torifile
2004-06-21, 14:37
We can see who voted for what? That's, umm, interesting, I guess. I'm not sure I like that.... But Panther*3 here.

Wickers
2004-06-21, 14:47
Main OS:

Linux, but I am stuck between distros in this current junction of time.

I have been using Slackware Linux for about just over two years now. Covering Slack 8, 8.1, 9.0, 9.1 and I just finished testing out 10RC1 and RC2. Slackware has given me a greater understanding of how a Linux system works. You can learn a lot more about Linux using Slackware, then if you were using RedHat, MDK, SuSE, etc. . .

About a few months back I took a different path then Slackware. I was planning to give SuSE a try hoping that it would let me focus on my work vs having fun tweaking the system. But, while on my way to give SuSE a shot, someone asked me to try Gentoo.

I spent about a month on Gentoo, and I loved it. Then I spent about a month on SuSE 9.1, and I did not like it so much. At this point I killed SuSE and installed Slackware 10RC1.

After giving 10RC1 a few weeks, I concluded that I would revisit Slackware when 10 is fully out. Until then I plan on messing around with other distros.

Now, my OS partition (where a distro would be) is empty and waiting for fresh code. . . I have been using the PCLinuxOS Live CD (pre7) and really like it. The only thing holding me back from installing it on my hard drive is that is still uses a semi-patched 2.4.22 kernel. After being spoiled with 2.6, I just can't bring myself to going back. Now I am downloading Knoppix 3.4 to give it a shot, I mean, why not?

---

Other OSs being used in my house:

OS 8.6 on an iMac.