PDA

View Full Version : Designer Needs Help In Laptop Choice

designerguy
2005-04-26, 23:58
I'm a graphic designer doing mostly print work for an advertising agency. While i'm working there I have a great system but often need to take work home to my old G4 Tower / 400mhz. Since I need to replace my desktop system anyway I wanted to get something portable to either work at home or take outside to a coffee house/library/parent's place/living room...ect. I've read a ton of the posts on this forum already but havn't read many posts by designers.

Many of the posts stated that the ibook was the best bang for the buck and that it was cheap enough to replace every 3-4 years, small and compact enough to carry where ever, but powerful enough to do the job. And that if the screen size became an issue to buy a flat panel for the detailed jobs. Is this what I need/best solution?

Also is a super drive needed? And how much ram?

I do not have a ton of spare cash but I am willing to save for the best system to do the job.

My basic programs are: Quark, Illus, Photoshop, (occasionally Dreamweaver) while running itunes/Firefox/Thunderbird in background. I also need to run a PC emulator to run my Calender software that I can not live without...Plan Plus for Win XP by Covey. Would also like to view DVDs/downloaded TV shows too.

Thanks for any and all advice!

Stevuh
2005-04-27, 07:12
Using an ibook for the should be Ok, It may be slow but it should get the job done. I would Personally recomend that you at least look into a PowerBook 12" or best case a 15" RAM wise i would say 512 - 1G Depends on what your doing. I personally have a 15" 1.25 G4 with 512 RAM. I've done some big (3'x5') posters on it and it works fine(gets bogged down a little). Super drive isn't "needed" but I would reccomend one so that if need be you can sit down and make a DVD archive or even a DVD portfolio, As for RAM i personally would go for a Gig. Hope this helps.