PDA

View Full Version : First time Mac buyer looking at a Mac Mini - should I wait for Tiger

roo
2005-05-01, 11:45
Hi everyone.

Having been one of those funny-looking PC-users forever, I've finally been won over to the white side after a) buying an iPod and b) visiting my friend (a long term Mac-addict) and seeing his Mac Mini. It's sleeky silence will replace the not-as-small and fairly noisy Shuttle in my living room.

All well and good, but I'm faced with one problem: Tiger is fresh out and the Mini is still shipping with 10.3 (Panther, right? Bear with me, I'm a newbie remember). So... should I wait for the Mini to start shipping with Tiger before I take the plunge? Tiger looks sweet, but I don't want to fork out another $150 next month.

Bigger questions: will the Mini even run Tiger? Will it need me to upgrade to 1 gig? I'd been hoping to get away with 512, to keep the price reasonable.

Your thoughts and advice would be much appreciated.

Luca
2005-05-01, 12:02
Tiger will ship with any Mac you buy today. Worst case scenario is they include a Tiger install disc in addition to the default Panther install. They did that when iLife '05 came out - very early minis shipped with iLife '05 taped inside the box because it was so new.

Hell, even if they don't include it, it's only $10 to buy an update disc, not $150. And besides, Apple only charges $129, not $150. You'll be fine.

As for the RAM, well... 512 MB is good, 1 GB is better. The mini will run Tiger better than it ran Panther, and any version of OS X needs 512 MB of RAM to perform well. Upgrading to 1 GB is worth it, but only if you're willing to open the case yourself and install it, or pay an Apple store $30 to install a third-party module you buy. Absolutely don't buy 1 GB from Apple, it's just a total rip off.

Stevuh
2005-05-01, 12:05