PDA

View Full Version : First Time Mac Buyer/User!!! Needs Help....

mattmal
2005-05-05, 00:38
Well this is a great website, found this link on another mac website, but anyway, I am a college student who has had PC's my whole entire life. After I saw my uncles and my teachers new powerbook, I really like it.. a lot. I also heard Rush Limbaugh talking about the new operating system which sounds great. My question is , would it be smart to wait a few more weeks to see if they are going to come up with an update on the powerbook? or should I jsut go ahead and by it? I plan on buying the 15" Powerbook, if anyone has any suggestions or comments please let me know. Appreciate it, Matt

Brad
2005-05-05, 01:16
The PowerBooks were just updated relatively recently (January 31, 2005); so, they're not likely to see an update for another few months. The PowerBooks generally have about a 7-month product cycle.

Since you're a student, be sure to check the Apple Store for Education (http://store.apple.com/Catalog/US/Images/routingpage.html) and your local university bookstore for any deals. The standard educational discount already knocks off a lump of cash, but if you're really lucky you might find an even better deal at your school.

Also, be sure to check out the 12" PowerBooks (and iBooks). I'm a university student myself and I (and several people I know) prefer the smaller size and greater portability (and cheaper price!) of the 12" model. It's small enough to slip in a sleeve with the rest of your books in your bookbag, but it's still a powerful machine when you take it home. It's by no means the best in all situations, but I'd suggest at least looking it over before you make your final decision.

Maciej
2005-05-05, 01:54
I cannot stress how much I agree with Brad on the 12". I am (or was nearly 2 years ago) in the same position as you, and I bought.. you guessed it, the 15". I'm in college regretting not getting a 12" because of the sheer portability.