PDA

View Full Version : ibook with 30gig or 60gig?

stringbeans
2005-05-11, 12:15
so ive decided to purchase an ibook today because im sick of waiting for the new one to come out :D

my friend also has a g4 ibook and he recommends getting the 60gig hd as opposed to the 30gig. do you guys agree? i will be using the ibook mainly just for notetaking at school, coding, and maybe a little sound recording. would 30gigs be enough for that?

thanks!

Franz Josef
2005-05-11, 12:36
30GB sounds awfully small these days. I would strongly recommend 60GB.

kryoxalys
2005-05-11, 14:20
I'm no iBook expert, but 30Gb might seem reasonable for you today, but in 2-3 years I think you will be happy for having settled for the 60Gb :)

atomicbartbeans
2005-05-11, 14:30
I have 30 in my iBook. It's not super-good, but tolerable.

I have several games and movies and thousands of pictures and mp3s, and I still have 16 gigs free.

If you have a combo drive, deleting iDVD will free up a gig. I recommend an external HD if you plan to do any heavy multimedia work.

Stevuh
2005-05-11, 17:00
60GB is better, you can never have enough HD space. . . MY 80 GB is almost full, alot of that is apps and movies/pictures. Sound recordings can pile up though. We have a recording setup at a theatre i work technical for and it fills up pretty quick when we record shows and what not.

BarracksSi
2005-05-11, 18:03
I recently moved from a 30 gig iBook to one with 60 gigs, and I'm already wondering if I should have gotten the 80 gig HD instead.

Of course, I'm a bit of a pack rat.

Wyatt
2005-05-11, 18:03
60GB is better, you can never have enough HD space. . . MY 80 GB is almost full, alot of that is apps and movies/pictures. Sound recordings can pile up though. We have a recording setup at a theatre i work technical for and it fills up pretty quick when we record shows and what not.