PDA

View Full Version : Mac Mini VS eMac

soccerkid656
2005-05-12, 16:00
So I am currently a student just going into high school and I want a Mac for my room. We currently have a PC in the living room, but I want my own computer and I have just decided that it's going to be a Mac because they're better than Windows. I have narrowed it down to two Macs: the Mac Mini upgraded to 512 MB of RAM or the new 1.42 eMac also upgraded with 512 MB of Ram. So I know there are advantages and disadvantages, but I still cannot decide. I'm so confused and I need your help. Please help.
Signed,
Confused :confused:

.Hack
2005-05-12, 16:24
In your case, I'd go with the eMac just because it already comes with a screen. By the time you upgrade the mini and buy a decent LCD/CRT monitor, it's probably going to cost a bit more. But if you've already got a screen, then go for the mini. My only advice to you is to buy the thing yourself. In my experience, parents tend to think that kids (especially younger than 17), are just wanting a computer for a toy, not a tool. At the same time, that brings up a good point. Do you REALLY need a computer, or are you just wanting a mini just because you want it. Your parents will be much more inclined to help you with your purchase if they see a use for the computer, and see you putting the machine to good use as well. Good luck! :)

soccerkid656
2005-05-12, 20:32