PDA

View Full Version : Wait or buy Powerbook?

aobk84
2005-06-15, 07:47
Hi guys, i'm new to this. I've been thinking of getting a 12in powerbook, should I wait or get it now?
Thanks..

Noel
2005-06-15, 08:47
If you need it now, buy it now. If you can wait, do.

psmith2.0
2005-06-15, 09:13
They were updated in January, and Apple hasn't exactly been setting any speed records with their laptop updates. It's so hard to tell.

They'll probably get updated in late summer or autumn, but who knows? I'm not entirely sure where they can go, speed/spec-wise in their current form. Can they get beyond 1.67GHz safely and comfortably?

:confused:

In the meantime, check this page out...might be helpful:

http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/

Franz Josef
2005-06-15, 09:45
Hi guys, i'm new to this. I've been thinking of getting a 12in powerbook, should I wait or get it now?
Thanks..

The now v later debate is an old one. To my mind, the answer is usually do it now unless there's a firm reason to wait for a specific point in the future. Life's too short to hold off unless there's a really good reason to. A 12" PB is a great laptop and if you're using Windows at the moment, the sooner you switch the better - it's a different world and there won't be a day you'll regret the change. You'll ask yourself why you didn't do it sooner.

I think I take a slightly different line to Pscates 2.0 above - in my experience, the 1.5Ghz 12" PB is a fast machine and I'm not sure a future step-up (1.67 Ghz or beyond) will seem materially faster for the user. Just make sure you get 1Gb of RAM so that Mac OSX can spread it's wings.

I'm assuming you're sure it's a 12" you want (great for portability) and not say a 15".

porter
2005-06-15, 09:53
I don't think it will be updated too much.
They might give you some more nifty tricks like the scrolling trackpad.
Or more RAM, a better video card, something along those lines.