PDA

View Full Version : between buying iMac or powerbook for college

jbakosphoto
2005-06-18, 21:43
hi, I'm ready to upgrade from a windows machine to a mac for college. I'm between buying a 20-inch iMac and a 15-inch powerbook. I am leaning towards the powerbook because of the portability issue. I was wondering if any students could weigh in on that and give some advice. I need a fast machine for photoshop because I am majoring in photography. The iMac is a great machine also though, so it is a very tough decision.

Wyatt
2005-06-18, 21:59
Unless you plan on taking your computer to class, I'd go with the iMac. Portability is nice, but if you aren't going to take it out frequently, the iMac offers a bit more muscle and a larger screen at a better price.

Yontsey
2005-06-18, 22:45
im gonna be a senior and i bought a desktop going into college. it was ok but about a month ago i recently bought a powerbook because i want the option of being able to take my computer to class or to go to the library with it so i can work on a paper there and just get away or to take it to one of the buildings. also ive been living off campus for going on 3 years and i love the fact that now i can go chill in the living room and bring my PB with me and still be able to go online and what not or just lay in my bed and do work. overall i love the portability option because on my campus there are tons of wireless hotspots. me personally id recommend the PB but i dont think you can loose either way.

ps: another great reason for a PB is when you wanna go home you can just pack it up real quick and jet out. with me, im the only one in the house that uses a comptuer so when id go home id be bored and not have a computer to work on but now i can just take it with me. hope this helped.

flail
2005-06-18, 22:52