PDA

View Full Version : New Mac user: iBook purchasing advice!

nana.the.noob
2005-07-16, 14:29
Hellooooooo!

I just registered a minute ago and would like some expert advice on my switch from PC to Mac...

Actually, what had happened was that Apple screwed up on my order 3 times so they are giving me a refund. So now I am being extra cautious and asking for some advice before I buy any Apple product..

I am a student looking for a portable and affordable machine. I don't do any of the hardcore video-editing stuff. My daily usage of my current computer would consist of writing in Word, using the internet and e-mail, occasionally playing online games, and listening and downloading music. I would also like to be able to record stuff onto my computer- I play the violin and sometimes I want to record myself to hear what I sound like, and also I am thinking of recording some of my teachers' lectures during class because I take very slow notes.

Preferably, I would not like to stray out of a $1200~$1400 range.

>+ extra questions!

1) Is it better to customize the laptop for extra HD by Apple, or to buy an external HD? I know that external HD's cost much less for more.

2) I know this sounds very stupid, but I am a noob and know NOTHING about computers... but can I still burn CDs on a combo drive?

Brad
2005-07-16, 14:52
2) The "Combo Drive" reads CDs and DVDs and can burn CDs (but not DVDs). The "SuperDrive" can read and write both CDs and DVDs.

Franz Josef
2005-07-16, 15:04
Hi. Given your budget, you probably want an iBook, 12" or 14". If you are happy to burn / play CDs and play (but not burn) DVDs, a 12" iBook should work for you. You ought to have 768MB or more of RAM and a, say, 60GB harddrive. iBook doesn't have a sound-in so you will need a workaround ( http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/imic/ ).

1) External HD a good idea but nonetheless get a reasonable internal HD - 30GB (the default) is too small, 60GB or 80GB better.

2) Yes, burns CDs not DVDs.