PDA

View Full Version : What do you think? Will the new iBook fit my needs??!?!?!

defora
2005-08-10, 23:18
Hello, I’m a pc user looking to switch to Mac for this semester for college, and I was looking into the recently updated iBook g4 14”.

I have never used a Mac before so I was wondering if you could tell me if the iBook would be good for what I need it for.

I’m going to be using for Image Editing (Adobe Photoshop)
Web design (Dream weaver)
Microsoft office
I will also be putting my entire music collection on it.

So I was thinking about this configuration:
14” 1.42ghz
512 standard (will be upgrading to 1.5 gig when crucial ram is in stock)
100gig HD
Superdrive

Thanks for your input!
Cheers, Jmo
:)

AsLan^
2005-08-10, 23:25
The only thing I can think of is you might find the 1024x768 screen size limiting. In which case your next best would be the 15" powerbook. But if you are comfortable working on a 1024x768 screen then the ibook sounds like a good fit for you.

atomicbartbeans
2005-08-10, 23:27
Sounds like it will serve you just fine. Although "image editing" in Photoshop could mean a number of things... from 320x240 thumbnails to 500 MB commercial graphic design work. I wouldn't exclusively use an iBook for the latter. :) But for all practical consumer purposes, it's plenty for what you'll ask of it. I have an iBook from January (slower CPU, less RAM), and it handles Photoshop fine. :)

Luca
2005-08-10, 23:33
Save the money on the hard drive. Going from 80 GB to 100 GB for $100 is a total rip off (even if that were the actual price difference between 80 and 100 GB laptop drives, which it isn't; the actual price difference is around $50). If 80 GB isn't enough for you, then 100 GB won't be enough either and you should buy an external hard drive as well. They're cheap... for about the same amount of money you would have spent to go from 80 to 100 GB, you can buy a $50 Firewire enclosure and a $60 desktop hard drive (80 GB capacity).