PDA

View Full Version : Mac-Newbie - iBook or PBook

chantman
2005-09-22, 17:41
Ok, I'm a computer technician, heavily trained and lots of experience in Windows machines and regular pc hardware. I've used Mac's a little bit, and I seem to like what I see.

I'm ready to purchase a new laptop, and I think I want to buy a Mac. I would like to play some games (WoW, Doom3, etc.), also when my wife and I start having kids I would like to do video and photo editing.

I've done alot of research, and I think I want to go with the PowerBook w/Superdrive, 128m of vram. Will I get at least 3 hours of battery life out of this system??? Also, I have a friend who had a Powerbook that had problems with it. I also see alot more older ibooks floating around than powerbooks. Is there a quality/life expectancy problem with the Powerbooks?

Thanks!

-Mike

Bryson
2005-09-22, 17:48
As a computer tech, I'd say you'd be more comforatable with the extra power/screen resolution etc of the Powerbook.

Re: eBay, I think it's more that people hang onto their powerbooks more as they don't outgrow the capabilities as fast.

Doom3 is probably not going to happen on any Mac laptop at a reasonable speed. I hear it chokes a bit on a dual G5. And here's a little secret about Doom 3 - it's not very good. Shame really.

Edit: Almost forgot....Welcome to Applenova!

losslesshead
2005-09-22, 19:28
Definatley should go with the Powerbook. The 15 inch is really god, and the 17 is too big unless you NEED the extra screen space.

Robo
2005-09-22, 20:59
Yeah...go with the Powerbook.

Don't buy it yet, though. Wait at least until Tuesday the 27th - updates are rumored.

I'm hoping I'll be able to pick up an updated 12".

Welcome to Applenova!

Luca
2005-09-22, 22:35
Ok, I'm a computer technician, heavily trained and lots of experience in Windows machines and regular pc hardware. I've used Mac's a little bit, and I seem to like what I see.