PDA

View Full Version : how strict is apple's return policy?

padraig946
2005-09-27, 18:51
I bought a mac mini today, and now I found out that they are bringing out an upgrade this week. My receipt says that I can return an opened item for an identical item within 14 days, but do you think they will let me exchange my computer for an upgraded one?

Brad
2005-09-27, 18:54
Well, regarding refunds, you can only return unopened items during that period for a full refund. If you opened it, you can return it but you have to pay an exorbitant restocking fee or a couple hundred dollars.

I seriously doubt they'll just had you a new Mac to replace your old one. Though, I have no personal experience with this. Let this be a lesson to do lots of research before buying something as expensive as a computer.

FFL
2005-09-27, 18:58
Generally, restocking fees are not charged when an item is exchanged. It helps if you can repackage it as pristinely as possible, so don't throw away any of the packing.

Cross your fingers that the rumored upgrade happens within the 14 day window.

padraig946
2005-09-27, 19:05
Generally, restocking fees are not charged when an item is exchanged. It helps if you can repackage it as pristinely as possible, so don't throw away any of the packing.

Cross your fingers that the rumored upgrade happens within the 14 day window.
^are you talking about apple specifically, or just with stores in general?

FFL
2005-09-27, 19:10
because of the 14 day policy you mentioned, I assumed you were referring to Apple Retail specifically, and that's what I was referring to.

kscherer
2005-09-27, 19:19
I bought a mac mini today, and now I found out that they are bringing out an upgrade this week. My receipt says that I can return an opened item for an identical item within 14 days, but do you think they will let me exchange my computer for an upgraded one?
If you got it from a reseller, your going to get nailed with a 15% restocking fee simply because you opened the box.