Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

For Graphic Design: IMac vs. PowerMac

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
For Graphic Design: IMac vs. PowerMac
Vaughnahue

2005-04-14, 13:57

Hello,

I'm in the middle of the PC/Mac conversion process, and I'm somewhat clueless when it comes to Mac specifics. I am a graphic design student, and I also do a lot of video editing. I want a computer that would be most efficient in that, and also cost efficient, being a student. I was wondering if anyone could help me figure out the pro's and con's to IMacs vs. PowerMacs...I know the PowerMac can be beefed up a whole lot more, but do I need that? Will the IMac suffice? Or will I be kicking myself in the butt as I wait for clips in final cut pro to render into the wee hours of the night? Any feedback would be much appreciated.
SpecMode
Wait what

2005-04-14, 14:04

Well, I'm not too much of an expert on the higher-end Macs, but the general philosophy still holds true: the more you're going to want the machine to do, the more money you're going to have to spend on it. That being said, if you're planning on doing a lot of HD video editing, you may want to spend the extra cash and pick up a mid-range PowerMac; however, if you're only looking to render smaller clips or are working with lower resolutions, I'd hazard a high-end iMac G5 may be better suited to your budget.

Of course, it would be a good idea to see how the rumored 'speed-bumps' pan out before making your purchase; others will likely tell you the same.
psmith2.0
Mr. Vieira

2005-04-14, 14:17

Well, if today's ThinkSecret iMac, eMac and G5 tower report proves to be true (and I'm betting it will), we're going to have an iMac G5 in a couple of weeks that'll be a pretty damn honkin' piece of machinery (they currently are as well, of course).