User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Changing screenshot output location


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Changing screenshot output location
Thread Tools
PKIDelirium
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
 
2007-01-26, 15:00

Okay, I take a lot of screenshots. I hate the desktop clutter from it. Is there any way to change the output location of the PNG files?
  quote
Wyatt
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Indianapolis
 
2007-01-26, 15:08

I think Onyx lets you do that, as well as change the format. (I know it lets you change the format, but I believe it allows you to change the location as well.)

That said, I'm sure there's some way to do it in Terminal, but I'm not very well versed in Terminal commands.

Twitter: bwyatt | Xbox: @playsbadly | Instagram: @bw317
  quote
Fahrenheit
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Send a message via ICQ to Fahrenheit  
2007-01-26, 15:20

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...1844&lsrc=osxh
  quote
PKIDelirium
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
 
2007-01-26, 15:55

You rock. My newly tidy desktop thanks you.
  quote
drewprops
Space Pirate
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta
 
2007-07-19, 13:48

I'm considering issuing the Terminal command cited in the MacOSXhints.com link to redirect my screenshots elsewhere.
What would a person need to do to redirect them back to the desktop.... just type in THAT filepath?



.

Steve Jobs ate my cat's watermelon.
Captain Drew on Twitter
  quote
Wyatt
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Near Indianapolis
 
2007-07-19, 14:09

Quote:
Originally Posted by drewprops View Post
What would a person need to do to redirect them back to the desktop.... just type in THAT filepath?
I'm sure that would work. There might be some sort of "reset" command, but I'm betting it's just the same command with your desktop filepath.
  quote
drewprops
Space Pirate
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta
 
2007-07-19, 14:19

Thanks, that's what I suspected
Does anyone know if the screenshot utility has been tweaked in Leopard to allow you to specify a different directory via a simple menu?

Steve Jobs ate my cat's watermelon.
Captain Drew on Twitter
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Potential MBP purchaser - high quality audio output? Feng Apple Products 12 2006-08-27 22:04
Triggering events when changing Locations Kickaha Genius Bar 0 2006-06-13 19:47
New iMac accessories(External HD, digital audio) Alexia Purchasing Advice 2 2005-10-18 01:36
digital output on PB trouble. trevo Genius Bar 0 2005-03-20 09:05
Screenshot questions... Wrao Genius Bar 21 2004-06-13 10:40


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:27.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2022, AppleNova