User Name
Password

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Mac Pro talk
Page 1 of 2 [1] 2  Next Thread Tools
JohnnyZ

2010-03-01, 18:10

I'm thinking about replacing my old MDD Powermac with a Mac Pro.

This presents a buyer's dilemma at this point in time though. It has been pointed on on some of the threads here, it seems illogical to buy a Mac Pro when the high end iMac has more basic power at a lower price.

I am a freelance graphics professional, and don't really like the screen of the built in iMac. I have a second mac, an iMac that the family shares, but I have never been able to calibrate the screen on the iMac to where it looks anything like the subtle colors of the Cinema Display I use with my Powermac.

So my dilemma is I don't want the top end 27" iMac with the built in screen... and I don't want to pay almost $400 for a Mac Pro with less power than the iMac.

My question is when are the new Mac Pros likely to be unveiled? Can we assume that the 6 core machine that is speculated will sell for about the same price as the current Mac Pro?

I'm also surprised that the prices on the refurbished Mac Pros don't seem that much lower than new ones. At the Epson rerurb store one can buy scanners that are discounted 50% or 70% sometimes. So a Mac Pro that's only discounted slightly below the educational store price makes one wonder if it's worth buying a refurb.

Any input to this discussion is much appreciated.
I started a new topic because I didn't see a specific Mac Pro thread.

Anyhow... thanks for any enlightenment.
ezkcdude
Veteran Member

2010-03-01, 19:56

Who told you the iMac outperforms the Mac Pro?
Miko
Veteran Member

2010-03-01, 20:00

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyZ View Post
I'm thinking about replacing my old MDD Powermac with a Mac Pro.