User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

12" i/power book and Core Image

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
12" i/power book and Core Image
jbloodwo

2005-04-16, 18:25

I don’t know if this is where I need to post this or not.
<rant>
Ok I am ready to take the plunge and switch to Mac. I have been using Linux off and on for about 8 years and pretty much fulltime for the last year and am wanting to get a Mac so a can do get rid of the one and last thing that I use windows for and that is ITMS and feeding my ipod. Also I am planning on going completely Notebook when I make this switch. I am tired of all the space and rats nest of wires coming from my PC’s.
</rant>
Now the real question… I am down to one of the 12” books either I or Power. I understand that currently the radion9200 in the iBook will not support Core Image. If Apple were not to announce a speed bump to the iBook within the next 3/4 weeks is Core Image enough of a killer feature to justify dropping the extra cash to get the powerbook over the ibook. Now I don’t see that I will be doing any video editing or anything like that and I am not a big gamer so the extra raw horsepower is not part of my decision matrix. Although I like the fact that you can change the hdd in the powerbook I do not know if that is enough incentive to make me go with a power book. SO I guess what I am really asking is.
Now that Tiger is shipping on 29 April are there any beta testers ( real or otherwise) that could comment on if Core Image is all that Marketing wants to say.
And if it is what happens on systems that lack a supported GPU?
screensaver400
Veteran Member

2005-04-16, 19:19

Maybe I just havn't noticed it, but I haven't seen CoreImage at all. Not even in iPhoto, an obvious place for it to be. It's my understanding that CoreImage has to be built into a program before it can be used, and as of the time Tiger is released, very few (if any) programs will support it.