Password
AppleNova Forums » Apple Products »

Games in Win XP BootCamp

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Games in Win XP BootCamp
Stacker

2006-04-08, 05:09

Hello

I'm a newbie to mac in the sense i'm still just saving up money to buy one. My only concern was the gaming issue, which seems to have been solved by BootCamp. The BootCamp thread featured a lot of talk, but not much from people who have tried playing games. What I was interested in knowing is how different games function. I'm a Dungeons and Dragons Online palyer, anyone tried this? Hope people have som experiences to share about different games they've tried.
rollercoaster375

Send a message via AIM to rollercoaster375 Send a message via MSN to rollercoaster375 Send a message via Yahoo to rollercoaster375 Send a message via Skype™ to rollercoaster375 
2006-04-08, 09:15

Boot Camp is a full Windows OS. It's the exact same thing as what you're using now, if you're on a PC. The only thing that XP on a Mac changes, is the way that the system boots.
Stacker

2006-04-08, 09:30

Yeah, I know that, just wondered how the mac's are at palying games. Thought I heard something about the 3D drivers not being best yet(for win XP). Was thinking mostly specs and how they handle new games. But I guess most mac people don't have a lot of win games lying around
rollercoaster375

Send a message via AIM to rollercoaster375 Send a message via MSN to rollercoaster375 Send a message via Yahoo to rollercoaster375 Send a message via Skype™ to rollercoaster375 
2006-04-08, 09:36

Yes, before Boot Camp, the OnMac.net project had XP running on the new Intel Macs, however, it did not have video drivers. As of Boot Camp, the video cards are fully exploited, but I think you're looking for something more along the lines of this: http://www.macworld.com/news/2006/04...php?lsrc=mwrss
Kit Fisto

2006-04-08, 10:04