User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Help installing G4 PowerBook HD

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Help installing G4 PowerBook HD
TiBook Terry

2005-02-03, 11:38

I have a 200 GB LaCie FireWire HD, and I was wondering what steps I need to go through to install a larger PowerBook HD (I currently have a 30 GB HD, but I'd like to buy a 60 or 80 GB HD and install that).

Can I backup my entire HD onto the FireWire drive and simply swap out the PowerBook HD?

Also, when purchasing a new PowerBook HD, is the faster rpm always the better (or is it louder, hotter, etc.)?

Any help would be appreciated!
Terry
Grip

2005-02-03, 14:47

First off, I have no experience with your particular laptop. Having said that:

When I installed a new HD in my 12" Powerbook, I followed this online guide. It helped me, hope it helps you.

Definitely backup anything you'd want to reinstall on the new HD. However the worst-case scenario (in terms of data preservation) is you still have the original HD.

There are many HDs to choose from. Some are louder than others so shop around for the specs you are looking for. Good luck.
Brad
Selfish Heathen

2005-02-03, 15:01

We have a recent related thread in the Apple Products forum: New PowerBooks - self-installed 7200 HDs

Replacing the internal hard drive is risky business. Unless you're quite comfortable with taking apart delicate equipment, I would not advise it. You'll break the warranty and maybe your PowerBook too.

The quality of this board depends on the quality of the posts. The only way to guarantee thoughtful, informative discussion is to write thoughtful, informative posts. AppleNova is not a real-time chat forum. You have time to compose messages and edit them before and after posting.
Luca
ಠ_ರೃ

2005-02-03, 15:10