User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Monitoring iMac Memory


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Monitoring iMac Memory
Thread Tools
Frank777
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
 
2017-01-17, 22:40

I'm trying to find out if there's a benefit to maxing out the RAM on this 10,1 iMac (I currently have 12GB instead of 16.)

Booted up Activity Monitor and went looking for the 'Show Memory Usage in the Dock Icon' feature.

Did this get removed from Mac OS Sierra? I thought it was there before...
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2017-01-18, 16:35

This was probably removed in Mavericks, because a concept of unused memory has gotten increasingly meaningless. Would be nice to have that memory pressure chart in the Dock, though, I suppose.
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate South Carolina
 
2017-01-18, 21:10

Is there a benefit to maxing the RAM, always. The question is do you want to put the money into it. Personally I would because I think the extra 4GB would be worth it. While the OS is pretty good about managing memory, more is always better when it comes to RAM.

How it handles RAM is interesting. Like, right now I have 1GB of compressed memory with over 20GB free. Why it compressed the memory I have no idea, but it doesn't really matter anymore.
Volstagg, Hackintosh:


Mongo, 2010 17" MBP:

If you look at that graph and your pressure is high then you really need it. Looking at the management of the RAM between these tow machines and it is easy to see why Apple says we don't need to rush to more than 16GB. I guess Apple doesn't think much about people running VMs on their machines that take RAM and hold it.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a nation of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
Visit our archived Minecraft world! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
Frank777
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
 
2017-01-19, 00:18

Quote:
Originally Posted by chucker View Post
This was probably removed in Mavericks, because a concept of unused memory has gotten increasingly meaningless. Would be nice to have that memory pressure chart in the Dock, though, I suppose.
Thanks. I knew it was there before, just haven't used it in awhile. You never miss something till you need it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by turtle View Post
Is there a benefit to maxing the RAM, always. The question is do you want to put the money into it. Personally I would because I think the extra 4GB would be worth it. While the OS is pretty good about managing memory, more is always better when it comes to RAM.
Yeah, I just bought it and installed it tonight. Machine actually felt slower for awhile , but I'm sure that was just the restart and Time Machine kicking in or something. It's back to normal now and hopefully I'll see a difference when I get back to work later on.


My next move this weekend is to do open-heart surgery and install a 1 TB SSD, though that's a bit beyond my comfort zone.
Why does Apple have to make that so difficult?
  quote
PB PM
Sneaky Punk
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Send a message via Skype™ to PB PM 
2017-01-19, 12:05

Another sign that you need more RAM is high SWAP file counts, which means the unit is hitting the HDD/SSD for memory when the RAM fills up.

More RAM may slow down boot times and wake from sleep, since it has more to getting going again (slower boot because the system does a basic RAM test on boot, more RAM longer testing time). Still totally worth it.
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac, Macbook memory cyrusmekon Apple Products 7 2007-11-11 20:43
Can you mix memory modules on G5 iMac? jcoley2 Genius Bar 3 2007-04-08 13:14
Can you mix memory sizes on iMac Duo jcoley2 Genius Bar 6 2006-10-28 11:10
imac g5 memory, Samsung RAM? ssliberty Purchasing Advice 3 2005-10-03 23:44
Powerbook fan monitoring? mers Genius Bar 2 2005-04-30 14:10


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:45.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2024, AppleNova