User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Weird DHCP problems


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Weird DHCP problems
Thread Tools
Dave
Ninja Editor
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
 
2008-01-12, 15:50

My friend's got a router (Netgear, IIRC) that doesn't pay attention to what I tell it to do. I've got it setup to always give certain IP addresses to certain MAC addresses so that all his file sharing works between all three of his computers. For no reason that I can see, the DHCP sever is his router sometimes decides that his Powerbook really needs to have a different IP than the one I've got entered in the Static IP setup. It'll go for months without doing it, and now it's happened twice in three days. I've tried telling him the steps I take to fix this problem, but as soon as he gets to the one that involves opening the router config page, he panics and calls me anyway. Any ideas? I'm going to fix it by getting rid of DHCP and manually configuring everything, but I'd love to know why his router has a mind of its own.
  quote
Banana
is the next Chiquita
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
 
2008-01-12, 16:52

Is there another router in the network? Could it be the modem that has router capability as well?

There also may be a conflict between who's giving out IP and who's asking for a specific IP- Is one of three computer configured to use a static IP that may conflict with router's setting, for example?

More details on how they are setup will be needed.
  quote
Gargoyle
http://ga.rgoyle.com
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: In your dock hiding behind your finder icon!
 
2008-01-12, 17:30

That is definitely the first thing to check. DHCP is is a broadcast protocol, which basically means that your computer shouts "Someone gimme an IP address!" and the first device to answer is normally the successful one!*


*Disclaimer
This is a major oversimplification of the DHCP protocol! (Just incase Eugene wants to pop in and accuse me of spreading FUD!!!

OK, I have given up keeping this sig up to date. Lets just say I'm the guy that installs every latest version as soon as its available!
  quote
Dave
Ninja Editor
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
 
2008-01-13, 04:41

I suppose his DSL modem could have a DHCP server on it. I'll have to look into it. The thing that weirds me out is that the router will lose the entry in the Static IP table, but only the one for the Powerbook (which is definitely set to use DHCP). As I said in my first post, this will all be academic after Monday when I get rid of DHCP, but I'd really love to know why the router's acting so weird.
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezes and graphics problems on iMac T-Man Genius Bar 7 2007-08-25 11:43
Help - routing/DHCP question alcimedes Genius Bar 9 2007-01-12 09:28
MacBook erros and problems macleod Genius Bar 31 2006-06-13 19:46
so I made the Switch, but have many problems.... ime_NY Genius Bar 26 2006-02-03 22:36
Weird LCD iMac VRAM problems alcimedes Genius Bar 1 2004-05-21 00:48


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2022, AppleNova