User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Good (music) keyboard for not much money?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Good (music) keyboard for not much money?
Robo
Formerly Roboman, still
awesome

2009-11-27, 02:23

I'm looking for a keyboard to plug into my Mac mini for piano lessons (and eventual GarageBand-ing). I'm just getting started so I don't need anything super fancy. I don't have a lot of money to spend, maybe $100-ish? I know that I'm not going to get anything amazing for that price, but I also know that some brands are better than others. I've heard that M-Audio was...not good, but I don't know what else I can afford.

I've seen Black Friday deals, but they seem to be all for stand-alone keyboards, like the Casios that you can play all by themselves, with built-in speakers. I don't need that, and all the added bulk would make it hard to fit on my desk...

Thanks in advance ^_^

and i guess i've known it all along / the truth is, you have to be soft to be strong
Brad
Selfish Heathen

2009-11-27, 02:53

Didn't Apple used to sell a basic MIDI/USB keyboard in the Apple Stores? I think it was an M-Audio model.

Here's one of M-Audio's models on sale at Amazon for $95: M Audio KeyRig 49 49 Key USB Keyboard Controller

FWIW, M-Audio is the one name I've seen for years on end as a vendor that makes Mac-compatible MIDI hardware. I don't recall ever reading anything particularly bad about them.

edit: Wtf? The Apple Store is down? I guess they're preparing the Black Friday sales.

The quality of this board depends on the quality of the posts. The only way to guarantee thoughtful, informative discussion is to write thoughtful, informative posts. AppleNova is not a real-time chat forum. You have time to compose messages and edit them before and after posting.
Robo
Formerly Roboman, still
awesome

2009-11-27, 03:13