User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

An Idiot in need of help, quick student discount question

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
An Idiot in need of help, quick student discount question
AnIdiot

2005-08-18, 10:31

Errr...i'm an idiot i think. Basically, my school sent me a link through my personal e-mail address given by them to purchase discount stuff at the apple education store. I obviously went for the "buy a mac, get a free ipod deal." After I purchased the item, I don't think I got a student discount seeing as I don't seem to have gotten a $300 discount. The rebate ticket is fine, so I do get the ipod for free.

But my question is do I have to sign up for something to verify I'm a student? They already kinda did by asking me for my school. Also, mind you, I accessed the apple education site through my school's e-mail address site. And if I do, can I still get my student discount if I show them proof after I actually receive my school I.D. and schedule?
spillerd

2005-08-18, 12:24

I would call Apple support immediately and tell them the situation, giving proof that you are a student, and asking to either have the purchase refunded so you can start over or to give you a discount.

If they try to refuse, don't sign for the order from UPS or answer the door when they ship it. Call them and return to sender. Once you get your refund, I would try again. I bought from an Apple store which makes it a lot easier to not screw up, especially when you try to factor in discounts, coupons, and such.
The Return of the 'nut
BANNED
I am worthless beyond hope.

2005-08-18, 12:31

what did you buy and what was the price charged?

there is not a flat 300 dollar discount. it's usually less than that.
BenP

2005-08-18, 13:10

I heard it was always 10%.
FFL
Fishhead Family Reunited

2005-08-18, 13:25