15" G4 PB 1.67GHz 1GB RAM (2 slots) 100GB HDD 128 vRAM SD APP -> $2.653

now I'm considering this:

17" iMac G5 2GHz 1GB RAM (2 slots) 160 GB HDD 128 MB vRAM SD APP -> $1.630
+
12" G4 iBook 1.33GHz 512MB RAM 40GB HDD 32MB vRAM Combo APP -> $1.132
_________
$2.762
Price difference: $109

all right... I don't need to be mobile all the time, i.e., I don't need to drag my LT to campus every day, just every so often. Hence, I'd use the PB as a desktop replacement rather than as a laptop. however, every so often I need to use a LT on campus and for travel.

I've been a winblows user for 13 years, I have zero practical experience w/ macs (except for messin with them @ the apple store or compusa.

putting the $100 price difference aside (I can make up for that w/ selling the 2nd iPod), which one(s) would u go for?

any input/help is greatly appreciated! thanks in advance!
Brad
Selfish Heathen

2005-09-07, 07:24

I'd jump all over the second option (iMac + iBook).

The big PowerBook isn't really a lot more powerful than the little iBook. The only reason for investing a huge chunk of cash in a PowerBook is if you plan to do all your work on-the-go and moving about. Since you're not, I really don't think it's worth it for you.

Having an iMac on the desk is much more powerful (and ergonomic) than having a PowerBook on the desk. Since you plan to do the majority of your work in one place, having your primary computer anchored to a desk isn't so bad.

The iBook will more more than sufficient for going about campus and traveling. In fact, most people I know prefer the smaller 12" screen (be it iBook or PowerBook) for working on campus because it will actually fit in a normal backpack and won't require you to lug around a special carrying case. The 12" is also perfect for fitting on little desks or in your lap.