Anyone using a standing desk?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Anyone using a standing desk?
Page 1 of 2 [1] 2  Next Thread Tools
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472

2017-02-27, 14:28

So I've been sitting at a desk again for the last 5 months and I'm noticing my body doesn't like it as much as when I was much more mobile. I've read of people working in hamster wheels and desks built around treadmills and such as a way to stay active. I'm not really interested in that at this point but more wondering if anyone here has moved to a standing desk either part or full time.

If sitting really is killing us all slowly, maybe I should stand more than just when my Watch tells me to get up and moving.

Basically I'm looking to make the leap but wanted to see what others are using out there.

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a nation of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
Visit our archived Minecraft world! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
dglow

2017-02-28, 02:03

AIUI, if you aren't switching between standing and sitting regularly, you're doing it wrong. Best to think of these as 'convertible' desks.
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472

2017-02-28, 10:29

Well that is really what I'm looking at. There is a desk platform on Monoprice that is down to $280 right now. The killer is shipping is $77 so the total price is $356.88 (I don't think I pay tax there). That also doesn't come with a desktop. So I would reuse my current desktop or order a new one. This would allow me to roll my chair under it an sit or move the chair out of the way and stand.

I really like this idea because I watched my weight gain over the last few months and know it's because I sit all day. While I might not get a treadmill to work on, at least if I'm up and moving I'm burning more calories than if I'm in this really comfy ergonomic chair.