Password
AppleNova Forums » Third-Party Products »

Do security devices exist for iMacs?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Do security devices exist for iMacs?
JLG

2006-01-19, 09:37

Hello,
As a brand new iMac Core Duo 20" owner, I couldn't be more thrilled with my first mac ever. Although, seeing how I am a college student, and from the horror stories and what not that I have heard from my friends already at the university (im starting spring semester), it has come to my knowledge that a lot of belongings are stolen from the dorm rooms from either careless room mates or other means. I was wondering if there are any known devices, and, if not, any suggestions on what I can do to ensure that my new iMac will not easily be taken from my room in the event that something happens. Any advice/help would be mostly appreciated!

Thanks
ghoti
owner for sale by house

2006-01-19, 09:40

What about a simple lock and chain? It seems to me that you could easily fix the iMac's foot to a table or whatever, and taking just the iMac without the foot is probably not very practical (I don't know how hard it is to remove the foot, though).
JLG

2006-01-19, 09:43

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghoti
What about a simple lock and chain? It seems to me that you could easily fix the iMac's foot to a table or whatever, and taking just the iMac without the foot is probably not very practical (I don't know how hard it is to remove the foot, though).
I considered this, but, as you have said, I don't know how easy it is to take the iMac off the stand either, and I really don't want to try and see and end up breaking it or something.
JLL

2006-01-19, 10:05

Just use a Kensington Lock:

http://us.kensington.com/html/1427.html
JLG

2006-01-19, 10:09

No offense, but that just seems to me as if the person can just pick the computer up even with that thing on it?
Banana
is the next Chiquita

2006-01-19, 10:22

Wow- Keningston must have a crappy marketing team.