AppleNova Forums » General Discussion »

Mac Networks in Big Business and Government

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Mac Networks in Big Business and Government
Chinney
Veteran Member

2007-01-17, 15:26

Do they exist?

I know that certain relatively small or maybe even mid-sized businesses run networks of Macs. (Personally, I have seen a couple of small businesses in ‘creative’ fields that do.) But are there any large corporations or government branches that run primarily with Macs (other than, presumably, Apple Inc.)?

Is it possible to run a large corporation on Macs? I assume the answer is generally, theoretically, “yes”, but it may depend on any general need, in a particular business, for specialized software that is still not available for OS X.

I work in the legal field and see no barriers at my workplace. Day in, day out, the MS Office Suite is the bread and butter of almost all of us here. There are a few specialized applications that I use (for research, time and file management, and personnel issues), but these are now all web-based, so I can’t see any barrier to using them with a Mac. There may be a few specialized accounting applications that our financial people use (I am not sure about that) that I suppose might not be available for Macs. Also, I don’t know if any network security features we would need might pose barriers.

What would be the financial implications of running a Mac network involving hundreds or (low) thousands of networked computers? Presumably there would be a higher start up cost (although I think that the needs of almost all of the networked computers in my field could easily be met with Minis).

How about keeping the network running? I remember reading on AN or AI a couple of years ago that the maintenance costs of a Mac network are far lower (fewer computer experts needed to keep the system running) than for networks of Windows-based computers, but I have no idea if that is actually true.
danielsza