User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Apple Products »

New Aluminum Apple Displays: 23" 30"


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
New Aluminum Apple Displays: 23" 30"
Page 1 of 7 [1] 2 3 4 5  Next Last Thread Tools
Brad
Selfish Heathen
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Zone of Pain
 
2004-06-28, 12:28

Well, the rumors were true. Apple finally made those aluminum-enclosure non-ADC LCDs with a split cable.

From MacRumors' updates at the WWDC:
Quote:
Today: completely new version of the 23" display. Showing it. Aluminum enclosure. one piece alumnium stand. Small bevel. One cable from the monitor which then splits. Also a 20" display. Same quality/enclosure. 20" - $1299, 23" - $1999. avail next month.

Also - now - largest display ever. 30" Display. 4.1 million pixels. same one piece alumn enclosure. firewire/usb. only works with PowerMac since needed a new graphics card. existing cards could not drive it. needs two dvi connections running in parallel.

New graphics card costs $599. Additional notes. they all share the one cable out which provides DVI, Firewire, USB.
Emphasis mine.

http://www.apple.com/displays/

All the info is there, folks.

The quality of this board depends on the quality of the posts. The only way to guarantee thoughtful, informative discussion is to write thoughtful, informative posts. AppleNova is not a real-time chat forum. You have time to compose messages and edit them before and after posting.
  quote
thegelding
feeling my oats
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: there are nice people here...that makes me happy
Send a message via AIM to thegelding  
2004-06-28, 12:31

30 inch is 3299 and you have to buy a 599 graphics card to run the dual dvi...

still if you have the money it would be sweet

g
  quote
Ryan
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Promise Land of Trustafarians
 
2004-06-28, 12:35

Does anyone have pictures?
  quote
Brad
Selfish Heathen
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Zone of Pain
 
2004-06-28, 12:36

Color me very disappointed. There's no mention of the 17" LCD -- is it being dropped? And there's no price drop or quality bump on the 20". These screens are how many years old?

*sigh* Well, at least Apple pulled its head out of its butt and figured out how to split the cable and drop ADC.

The quality of this board depends on the quality of the posts. The only way to guarantee thoughtful, informative discussion is to write thoughtful, informative posts. AppleNova is not a real-time chat forum. You have time to compose messages and edit them before and after posting.
  quote
SonOfSylvanus
Fro Productions(tm)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London Town
 
2004-06-28, 12:37

So I spose the dual dvi connector means it is impossible to have a dual 30" set-up
  quote
curiousuburb
Antimatter Man
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: that interweb thing
 
2004-06-28, 12:50

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad
Color me very disappointed. There's no mention of the 17" LCD -- is it being dropped? And there's no price drop or quality bump on the 20". These screens are how many years old?

*sigh* Well, at least Apple pulled its head out of its butt and figured out how to split the cable and drop ADC.
Yep... the 17" display in no longer being sold.
Refurbs or old stock only.

edit: removed wishful thinking about iMac

Last edited by curiousuburb : 2004-06-28 at 13:45.
  quote
LudwigVan
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Minnesota
 
2004-06-28, 12:59

Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousuburb
Yep... the 17" display in no longer being sold.
Refurbs or old stock only.

An all widescreen lineup now...
(except low end PB/iBook for form factor)...
and 15" iMac... which will also be discontinued today...
to be replaced (as "one more thing") by all widescreen iMacG5 -for anniversary purposes.
Fact or speculation? The Apple Store isn't online yet...
  quote
Messiahtosh
Apple Historian
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
2004-06-28, 13:06

Quote:
Originally Posted by LudwigVan
Fact or speculation? The Apple Store isn't online yet...
Yeah, how sweet would that be if it were true...waiting, waiting...
  quote
Brad
Selfish Heathen
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Zone of Pain
 
2004-06-28, 13:07

No iMac G5s. Keep the speculation in the Speculation and Rumors forum, please.
  quote
alcimedes
I shot the sherrif.
 
Join Date: May 2004
Send a message via ICQ to alcimedes  
2004-06-28, 13:14

actually, they said that with two of these video cards, you'd be able to run dual 30" displays. go figure.
  quote
709
¡Damned!
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Purgatory.
 
2004-06-28, 13:46

http://images.apple.com/displays/ima...op06282004.jpg

http://images.apple.com/home/images/...ge06282004.jpg


Last edited by Brad : 2004-06-28 at 13:50. Reason: Posting huge bastard images like these inline is really bad etequitte
  quote
thegelding
feeling my oats
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: there are nice people here...that makes me happy
Send a message via AIM to thegelding  
2004-06-28, 13:49

wow....how heavy is that stand to hold that???

and how much did the old displays weigh??

g

current info:
Size and weight

* 20-inch Apple Cinema Display
o Height: 16.1 inches (41 cm)
o Width: 18.5 inches (47.1 cm)
o Depth: 6.8 inches (17.4 cm)
o Weight: 14.5 pounds (6.6 kg)
* 23-inch Apple Cinema HD Display
o Height: 17.7 inches (45 cm)
o Width: 21.1 inches (53.6 cm)
o Depth: 7.3 inches (18.7 cm)
o Weight: 15.5 pounds (7.03 kg)
* 30-inch Apple Cinema HD Display
o Height: 21.3 inches (54.3 cm)
o Width: 27.2 inches (68.8 cm)
o Depth: 8.46 inches (21.5 cm)
o Weight: 27.5 pounds (12.47 kg)

crazy is not a rare human condition

everything is food if you chew hard enough
  quote
709
¡Damned!
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Purgatory.
 
2004-06-28, 14:02

Quote:
Last edited by Brad : Today at 14:50. Reason: Posting huge bastard images like these inline is really bad etequitte.
I take it you're not back to your 'real' machine then...hmmm Mr. Grumpy?
  quote
curiousuburb
Antimatter Man
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: that interweb thing
 
2004-06-28, 14:05

Specs of the new Nvidia card are here

  quote
DMBand0026
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago
 
2004-06-28, 14:07

So how can this thing drive two 30" displays if each display requires 2 DVI ports?
  quote
Xaqtly
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
2004-06-28, 14:09

It can't, not as far as I can figure. Not as long as we only have one AGP slot.

otoh, does anybody really need two 30" displays? :wow:
  quote
709
¡Damned!
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Purgatory.
 
2004-06-28, 14:10

Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousuburb
Specs of the new Nvidia card are here

Apparently you can drive 2 30" screens from this beast. I took it from the keynote that you would need 1 GPU per 30". Interesting.
  quote
murbot
Hoonigan
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canada
 
2004-06-28, 14:12

Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousuburb
Yep... the 17" display in no longer being sold.
Refurbs or old stock only.

edit: removed wishful thinking about iMac
Hmm... you can buy it at the Canadian Apple Store still for $999 CDN. The 20" is $1799 CDN.
  quote
Xaqtly
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
2004-06-28, 14:21

Quote:
Originally Posted by 709
Apparently you can drive 2 30" screens from this beast. .
Holy bejeezus, you're right.


The combination of a GeForce 6800 Ultra with a dual processor Power Mac G5 driving two 30-inch Apple Cinema HD Displays is the definitive tool for the creative professional.

:wow: :wow: :wow:

:smokey:
  quote
BrandonAllan
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
2004-06-28, 14:40

Also from the system requirements:

"Windows-based PCs with graphics card that supports DVI ports with full single link digital bandwidth and VESA DDC standard for plug and play setup."

I guess it makes sense now that it's gone to DVI

I'm not here. This isn't happening.
  quote
windowsblowsass
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: williamsport,pa
Send a message via AIM to windowsblowsass  
2004-06-28, 14:40

Quote:
The optional VESA mount lets you put a flat panel in surprising new places. So you can make your Apple display a seamless part of a museum kiosk, mount it on a wall in a office lobby or swivel changes to a client via an articulating arm
looks like wall mounted apple displays were real after all
  quote
DMBand0026
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago
 
2004-06-28, 14:40

Question still remains...how?

If you only have 2 DVI plugs on the card and you have 2 DVI cables per display...that doesn't add up to me.
  quote
windowsblowsass
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: williamsport,pa
Send a message via AIM to windowsblowsass  
2004-06-28, 14:42

the display doesnt use two dvi plugs it uses one dual-link dvi plug (basically twodvi streamsin one plug) and the card has two dual-link plugs so there thats how
  quote
Xaqtly
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
2004-06-28, 14:43

Without seeing pics I don't know, but it says right on the page that it supports two 30" displays. So I'm guessing the 30" display only has one DVI connector... it's just that it requires the dual DVI card in order to function.
  quote
BrandonAllan
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
2004-06-28, 15:12

from DDWG.org:

Quote:
Dual Link
Dual Link DVI supports 2x165 MHz (2048x1536 at 60 Hz, 1920x1080 at 85 Hz). A dual link implementation utilizes all 24 of the available pins.

Single Link
Single Link DVI supports a maximum bandwidth of 165 MHz (1920x1080 at 60 Hz, 1280x1024 at 85Hz). A single link implementation utilizes 12 of the 24 available pins.
so it looks like it's one connector that packs twice the punch.

(the DDWG site says the dual-link DVI supports 2048x1536 but the new 30" display is 2560x1600. hmm)

I'm not here. This isn't happening.
  quote
MacUsers
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta.
 
2004-06-28, 15:16

I really want one... It's just too bad there is no price drop. There really could have been a price drop. I want a price drop. Now.
  quote
Moogs
Hates the Infotainment
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NSA Archives
 
2004-06-28, 18:45

Major ball-buster of an announcement if you ask me. Not even so much as $100 mark down on either the 20" or 23" displays, and their specs are barely more impressive than the last generation. In fact, isn't the previous 23" model also a 400:1 screen in terms of contrast ratio? Seems like the only thing that has improved are the response time and the overall brightness threshold.

Obviously they were too cheap to use this screen or something comparable... unless they just marked the specs down which seems unlikely knowing the RDF is in full effect.

OMFG !11! More screen ports!!!


[Correction: The old contrast ratio was 350:1 not 400:1, still a minor improvement given the current state of the art is closer to 600:1 for large monitors. The cd/m2 is 70 units higher as well. Anyone else underwhelmed?]

...into the light of a dark black night.

Last edited by Moogs : 2004-06-28 at 18:54.
  quote
curiousuburb
Antimatter Man
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: that interweb thing
 
2004-06-28, 19:20

Have you noticed the response rate of the new displays?

now 16ms... fastest refresh available.

They're now officially SWOP Certified (also industry leading).
Colour accuracy is more important than pure contrast ratio for most designers.
  quote
Moogs
Hates the Infotainment
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NSA Archives
 
2004-06-28, 19:29

Actually, the prior variants are also SWOP-certified. You can get a brand new 23" ACD from Small Dog for $1799 now. Might be worth it if you're a graphics pro.

The response time is nice but that's purely a gaming thing. You are not likely to notice it in other aspects of usage IMO. Not saying these are crummy specs, just that they seem to be rather middling improvements over the previous specs... except maybe where response time is concerned I admit.

...into the light of a dark black night.
  quote
EDS66
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arlington, VA
 
2004-06-28, 19:40

Thank God! -- no more ADC!
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Page 1 of 7 [1] 2 3 4 5  Next Last

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2023, AppleNova