Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

iTunes track numbering

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
iTunes track numbering
Wrao
Yarp

2004-08-22, 15:07

(I think that's an acceptable way to label this thread?)

Is there a way to select a handful of songs and have them all get branded track #s automatically, like Say I select a whole album, and I want to get them tracked 1-12 without having to do each one individually.
Luca
ಠ_ರೃ

2004-08-22, 15:20

You might have to wait for Automater in Tiger to do this. I'm sure you could also write a script to do it, but I have zero knowledge of AppleScript and I've never seen a guide that I've been able to follow.
synotic

2004-08-22, 17:22

For what it's worth.. I did this in like 5 minutes and barely tested it... it does it track by track so it's a bit slow... I tried to get it to change them all at once, but my AppleScript's rusty so I'm not completely sure how to do it. Standard warning about how this may delete your files or screw up your songs. And this isn't a joke warning, this might actually screw up the ID3 tags of your songs... Enjoy (if any applescripters out there want to suggest any fixes, please do):

Code:
tell application "iTunes" if selection is not {} then copy (track number of selection) to theTrackCount copy selection to theTracks else return end if end tell copy theTrackCount's length to theTrackCount repeat with i from 1 to theTrackCount tell application "iTunes" copy (a reference to item i of theTracks) to theTrack copy theTrackCount to track count of theTrack copy i to track number of theTrack end tell end repeat
PowerBook

2004-08-22, 23:54

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrao
(I think that's an acceptable way to label this thread?)

Is there a way to select a handful of songs and have them all get branded track #s automatically, like Say I select a whole album, and I want to get them tracked 1-12 without having to do each one individually.