Password
AppleNova Forums » Programmer's Nook »

How safe are .htaccess passwords?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
How safe are .htaccess passwords?
Wyatt
Veteran Member

2007-07-25, 12:56

I'm in the middle of a sort of summer cleanup project on my FTP server, which I use to manage web sites at 3 domains and 5 subdomains. One of my new subdomains is supposed to be a test area for me to try out new applications on my server before pushing them through to one of my main sites.

I'd like to password protect the area. It's not super important, but I'd prefer to keep prying eyes off of my new stuff.

From a management standpoint, I think .htaccess passwords might be the way to go. I've never used them before, but they seem pretty straightforward. What I'm wondering is, how secure are they?

All of my sites are in subfolders on my FTP server. I don't have any sites in the root folder. The only two files in there are my Google site map (which I'll probably be moving or just plain deleting soon) and an .htaccess file that handles some basic settings for all my sites. Can I put my .htpasswd file in the root directory without any major security risks, or should I use another subfolder that's not accessible from the web? (My root folder isn't accessible from the web at the moment, either.)

Twitter: bwyatt | Xbox: @playsbadly | Instagram: @bw317
ast3r3x
25 chars of wasted space.

Send a message via AIM to ast3r3x  
2007-07-25, 13:01

Secure.

As long as nobody changes the httpd.conf to stop using them I think the biggest problem with them is that I think they are capable of being brute forced since there is no way to limit the number of times a user has tried to login.
Brad
Selfish Heathen

2007-07-25, 13:27

Quote:
Originally Posted by fcgriz View Post