Password
AppleNova Forums » AppleOutsider »

Learning to play the guitar

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Learning to play the guitar
Satchmo
can't read sarcasm.

2008-03-26, 09:22

I've always wanted to pick up the guitar. Well I did a number of years back, but never stuck with it. Took a continuing education class but after that ended, so did my playing.

Just wondering for those who do play, how long it took you to be proficient at it?
Is private one on one training the best way to learn or were you self taught?
Is there a beginner (acoustic) guitar you would recommend (for someone with short fingers)?
Dave
Ninja Editor

2008-03-26, 09:34

1) Don't know. I'll update you when I get there.
2) Most of what I know, I learned from private lessons, but whatever works for you.
3) I would recommend the guitar that sounds best to you and is easy to play. They make smaller "kid" models, but I wouldn't bother because, AFAIK, they don't make *good* kid guitars. If you end up really liking it, you'll have to kinda re-train yourself to play a full-size guitar. There is one thing you can do, though. They make guitars with different "Scale Lengths", which refers to how long the strings are. I'd start my search with shorter Scale Lengths, because that places the frets closer together. At least at first. Who knows? Maybe your fingers aren't as short as you think they are. Oh, and play some really nice ones before you buy anything. I'm not suggesting you actually get one for your first guitar, but I've seen some super crappy entry-level guitars, and this way you'll know what a good one feels like.
SKMDC
superkaratemonkeydeathcar

Send a message via AIM to SKMDC  
2008-03-26, 10:27

I've been playing 35 years and I still suck!