Password
AppleNova Forums » AppleOutsider »

Financial Perfect Storm?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Financial Perfect Storm?
Page 1 of 35 [1] 2 3 4 5  Next Last Thread Tools
JohnnyTheA

2008-09-14, 20:07

Okay my background is EE, CE, and CS... I don't know very much about finance except what they taught us in Eng School which was mostly about what optimizing processes... I don't understand anything about global markets, the fed reserve, banks... In talking to my parents (who can remember the Great Depression) they are really concerned about:

http://www.iht.com/articles/2008/09/...s/15lehman.php

Can someone who actually has a background in macro/global finance explain why everyone is concerned about a couple financial companies going under? Is it a "house-of-cards" situation? Nobody would be this concerned if this was John Deere. For some reason AIG, WaMu, and Lehman going under is something really scary to a lot of folks...

No Comprendo..

JTA
apple007
BANNED
I am worthless beyond hope.

2008-09-14, 20:17

It's the Daddy State run amok. When individuals or firms know Uncle Sam will bail them out when times get rough -- whether it's a homeowner who skips buying flood insurance or a huge bank like Lehman -- they'll not only act recklessly, they'll inspire others to act recklessly. Once Uncle Sam bails out person or firm #1, it's hard to say no to #2 and #3, etc. Vicious cycle ensues.

Anyway, in a perverse way, it's sort of funny how this all came full circle so quickly. Not more than 2-3 years ago, liberals were bashing big banks for not giving enough loans to people with shaky credit. (Remember all the so-called "red-lining" "scandals"?) Now the same folks are bashing the banks for "causing" the current housing and foreclosure crises.

Gee, who would have thought giving huge loans to millions of people with bad credit and no money would be a bad idea?
naren
snail herder