AppleNova Forums » Programmer's Nook »

Simple css layout

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Simple css layout
dmegatool
Custom User Title

2008-12-01, 22:21

Hey guys,
I'm not that good with css and I trying to do something and it doesn't work. It's for a site layout.

So I got a fixed content area that need to be centered. On each side, there is some graphics but there are "optionnale" I don't want scroll bar if the sceen isn't wide enough.... like gametrailers.com. Anyone could help me start this ?

I could easily do this with a table but... I would like to avoid that

To make it clear:
liquidOptionnal - Fixed - liquidOptionnal

...centered

Dave Mustaine :"God created whammy bars for people who don't know how to solo."
ThunderPoit
Making sawdust

2008-12-01, 22:45

a quick look at the source code and i find this in one of their stylesheets:

Code:
body { background: #000000 url(/images/GT_VGA_Gamestop_SiteSkin_Final.jpg) repeat-y scroll top center; }
looks like its just a repeating background image and the main content is centered inside of it.
dmegatool
Custom User Title

2008-12-01, 23:06

Yeah but mine needs to be 2 different on each side... Well I could do it with one but, It would just feel weird. Cause there will be a fixed background on each side+a repeating bg. I'll use nested div to do it cause I can't use multiple background as it's CSS3 only right ?

Anyway, if somebody could suggest something with 2 div snapped to the content area

But thanks for the reply. I guess my example wasn't that good.

Partial
Stallion

2008-12-02, 01:28

It looks like Gametrailers looks like this:

Set flexible % based widths on the outer container elements, and set a fixed width for the main content container. I would think that would take care of it, but I'm more of a server side guy myself.

Code:
<div id="blackBackground"> <div id="images"> <div id="mainContentContainer"> </div> </div> </div>