User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Programmer's Nook »

Advanced Copy Paste

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Advanced Copy Paste
EmC

2020-09-04, 15:07

Thank you in advance for any advice or help. I am a teacher. I am teaching virtually this semester. All of the assignments and grading are done in one platform and the grades for each assignment have to be entered into another platform. I can export the grades for each assignment into excel, but need help automating the pasting. I am looking for a little script or utility or something that will let me copy the grades from a spreadsheet, put my cursor in the first box of my grade book and press go and have it put in the first grade from the list "press enter" then put the next grade in and so on until the end of the list.

I have no idea where to start. HELP!

What Adobe Updater‽ What‽ What‽ WHAT‽
Brad
Selfish Heathen

2020-09-06, 17:46

Is your grade book a dedicated app (desktop? mobile?) or just some kind of online app in a web browser? I presume there's no import feature anywhere, is there? If you could find any way to import grades, it might be better to find a way to transform the shape of the other exported spreadsheet into some other format the grade book will import.

Unfortunately, all of my other ideas would require a fair bit of technical programming skill, and they would both assume your grade book tool is in a web app.

For automating web stuff, Selenium WebDriver is a popular tool for programmers and SDET/QA engineers. You write code that teaches it what to look for in a web page and how to interact with it (click, type, etc). At the lower level, most languages like Python have libraries for communicating directly over HTTP, parsing web pages, and posting form contents; requests and Beautiful Soup come to mind. If you're not already a web developer, though, both of these answers are probably way out of scope for you.