Writing in the dark

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Writing in the dark
Page 1 of 2 [1] 2  Next Thread Tools
torifile
Less than Stellar Member

Send a message via AIM to torifile  
2007-08-01, 22:41

I was poking around scrivener's forums yesterday just to see how people were using it and I came across a thread about turning off your left brain. Someone suggested using full screen mode and dimming the screen entirely and just typing. No correcting, no editing, no re-reading. Just typing.

I tried it for the first time last night, and I was amazed at what came out. I started writing this story. I have no idea where the ideas were coming from and I have no idea where the story is going but I can't wait to start again. It's like reading a good book!

In general, I don't think I'm a very good writer but this story is not the usual "me" writing. It's almost as if it's someone else doing the typing. I love it!

Anyone else ever try this? It seems to work for me.
Wrao
Yarp

2007-08-01, 22:44

I've written emails this way. On a plane, in an effort to save battery life. I found that the emails tended to go a lot longer than I normally would have written. Partially out of boredom, but also, because after a short while, I stopped thinking about what I was typing and just sort of kept typing.
¡Damned!

2007-08-01, 22:59

I can't type to save my life. I *feel* like I'm quick (the interweb tests tells me I'm about 50 wpm), but I'm sure that has to do with me honing my 'hunt and peck' style over the last years.

Although, when I initially read your post I thought you were asking if there were any other people that wrote without looking. I do this all the time at meetings and whatnot, and I can tell you honestly...it freaks people out.

I'll be asking a question while my hands are finishing up taking notes from the last conversation and...well, let's just leave it at that. People gape.

Fucking primates.

So it goes.
kieran
@kk@pennytucker.social