User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » AppleOutsider »

is copying 1,200 library CDs stealing music?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
is copying 1,200 library CDs stealing music?
Page 1 of 2 [1] 2  Next Thread Tools
ohara
BANNED
I am worthless beyond hope.

2005-01-20, 18:02

OK, so I get nearly all my music (classical and opera ) from the local music library. I've copied 1,200 CDs and ripped them into AACs. (Around 100 gigs). I've been doing this for 2 years.

(I only own 3 CDs)

Question is, is this legal?

Reason I'm asking is because at my college today I borrowed a CD and the librarian said that If i were a music major and if I were to copy this CD and Sheet Music, I'd be expelled from school.

So I'm now guessing that I stole "$10,000" of music.

Now I feel bad...............
Struggling artists like Midori, Anne Sophie Mütter, Maria Callas have been shortchanged by me. (i know that i wrote that sentence in the passive, but I didn't feel like going back and inserting a subject).

Before I thought that the public owned these recordings, and I, as a taxpayer could make copies.

does anyone know if this is legal?

ast3r3x
25 chars of wasted space.

Send a message via AIM to ast3r3x  
2005-01-20, 18:06

Probably...but does it matter? No.
Igorot Warrior

2005-01-20, 18:12

I'm not sure what the legal ramifications are....and it's not like you are making copies and then selling them.

At any rate...it looks like you genuinely appreciate their work so it won't go to waste.

"War just in the ring...peace on Earth" - Vanderlei Silva
SonOfSylvanus
Fro Productions(tm)

2005-01-20, 18:34

Illegal.
Zodiac
Shiny, Musky, Fleshy Member

2005-01-20, 18:39

Snap the discs in half and throw them out. It's illegal.
Wickers
is not a kind of basket

2005-01-20, 18:56

In Canada it's legal... err... or so it would seem, considering the judge who ruled it was legal to copy music made a reference to making copies of pages at the library.