User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

Ethernet problem


Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Ethernet problem
Thread Tools
womblingfree
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
 
2006-01-15, 20:02

I'm having trouble with my Ethernet on my G4 iBook.

Network preferences say:

'Built in Ethernet is currently active and has the IP address 10.0.0.1. You are connected to the internet via Built in Ethernet.'

The trouble is that Safari says I'm not connected to the internet and refuses to open any pages. I've tried different modems, routers and Filters but they all give the same result.

I can connect using dial up or a seperate USB modem but I need Ethernet for our network!

What am I doing wrong?
  quote
rminkler
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
 
2006-01-15, 20:15

Are you using DHCP?
  quote
WrestleEwe
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Utrecht NL
Send a message via Skype™ to WrestleEwe 
2006-01-15, 20:22

What does your home LAN "look" like?

Do you connect to a router? a DSL modem? or another computer?

Do you have Internet Sharing enabled over the Built-in Ethernet?

Did you enter the IP adress yourself, or did you use DHCP?

What else does NP say when you click on "built-in Ethernet"?
Are those adresses correct?
Are there other computers connected to the internet via the same connection? If so, what are their IP adressses?

What happens if you ping an adress with "Network Utility" (under Applications/utilities). Try www.mtv.com and, if that doesn't work, it's IP adress: 62.58.34.33

Allright, that's a lot of questions, sorry.
  quote
womblingfree
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
 
2006-01-15, 21:08

Right, yes it looks like I'm using DHCP.

I had a different internet provider until recently that worked fine. There are two computers in our house and neither can connect via ethernet, only an external USB modem.

WrestleEwe I'll find out the answers to your questions and try your advice.

...I'll be back!
  quote
womblingfree
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
 
2006-02-03, 07:45

Ok, I completely figured out the problem.

When trying to configure the modem you have to type the modem address into your browser.

Typing it into Safari resulted in the message 'You are not connected to the internet', it didn't work in other words.

Typing the address into Internet Explorer allowed access to the modem. From there I just set the username and password and all was well.

Never thought I'd be greatful to Microsoft ever again!

For future reference how does one enable Safari to do this?

Last edited by womblingfree : 2006-02-03 at 07:54.
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:49.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2020, AppleNova