User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Genius Bar »

iPhone 3G email problems

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
iPhone 3G email problems
robert1014

2008-08-02, 07:08

I've got a new iPhone 3G, which I've had for about two weeks. Originally, I had the Mail app on it to set to retrieve mail from my Mail app on my Mac at home, which retrieved only messages from my earthlink account. I was able to send and receive emails on it. I added a new account to my Mail app on my Mac at home last week, setting it to retrieve emails from my gmail account, (using POP mail).

I synced my iPhone to my computer and the Gmail account transferred over. I noticed I could send and receive emails via my new Gmail account (on my phone), but while I could receive messages via the (original) earthlink account, I could no longer send messages out from it. I started playing with the earthlink account preferences on my mac, and synced to my iPhone, hoping this would remedy the problem. Instead, I found I could no longer receive OR send messages from EITHER account on my iPhone!

Two days ago, I did a complete restore of my iPhone, using the saved backup. After this, I was able once again to send and receive emails from the Gmail account, and could receive emails via earthlink, but, as originally, could NOT send emails from the phone using the earthlink account.

Let me add that both accounts work fine on my mail app on my mac.

Stupidly, yesterday evening I had another thought about changing some of the earthlink settings to get it to work on my phone. After changing my earthlink settings on my mac's Mail app and syncing, once again I could neither send nor receive messages from either account on my phone. Aaarrgh!