AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

Confused - too many options - help?

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Confused - too many options - help?
benkraft

Send a message via ICQ to benkraft Send a message via Skype™ to benkraft 
2005-05-05, 11:52

First off - hi everyone!
Okay, so here's my situation - I'm a university student and also work as a freelance translator. Lately, I've gotten pretty fed-up with my Windows XP rig, mostly because using it both for "serious work" (read: translation and writing papers) and as a gaming rig doesn't seem to work all that well for me. I guess it's my own fault for experimenting too much with drivers and patches and all the wonderful blessings of the Windows world.
At any rate, right now I'm contemplating getting a Mac as a WORKstation, i.e. for the important stuff. This would mean correspondence/email, university assignments (my master's thesis will be coming up in about a year), and translations - the stuff that would actually pay for the machine. The Wintel machine would remain my gaming setup. I have a 2 1/2 year old G3 iBook 800 I'm pretty happy with (although it's beginning to feel slow), so I'm not a complete Mac newbie.

So, I'm trying to decide what a sensible choice would be. I see three options:
1.) Getting a Mac mini, which should be sufficient for what I outlined above, and quiet too.
2.) Getting a 17" 2GHz G5 iMac, as it is much more advanced, has a better feature set complete with display and, let's be honest here, is pretty darn sexy!
3.) Getting a low-end PowerMac (probably single-proc).

Pros & Cons:
1.) Pro: small, quiet, sufficient (probably), I have an extra monitor or could use a KVM switch
Con: non-upgradeable, already 1 Proc generation behind, limited graphics, etc
2.) Pro: More up-to-date, much better graphics, pretty decent deal overall, obviously better performance, nice display included, more future-proof (if there is such a thing)