User Name
Password
AppleNova Forums » Purchasing Advice »

intel macs and crucial memory

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
intel macs and crucial memory
dngonzales

2006-01-29, 16:10

Well i am a student and i have $3700 dollars to buy a laptop with and at first i was think i would wait till april 1st to see if they came out with a macbook 17 but then i started thinking i could just buy the current macbook 1.83 w/ 7200 drive and 1 gig of ram ( 1 stick ) that would leave me with enough money to buy a 60 gb ipod for transfering files between my 1.25 emac and macbook and music with enough money to spare for extras
one question i had was does the crucial memory work without any problems in these new intel macs ?
does anyone know of an intel imac with crucial upgrade? does it work without errors ?
or should i just wait till aprill first and see whats next ?
sure i could wait and possibly get a 17 or whatever they will have but i will be flat broke afterwards till fall semester but they might not even have what i am looking to buy in april then i will have wasted 2 months waiting for nothing
what would everyone do if they had the same situation dont forget to reply on the subject of crucial memory
P.S i know crucial memory is the only memory to get for a mac if you want no problems but will he same apply to the intl macs
P.S does the intel macs have trouble waking from sleep?
neiltc13

2006-01-29, 16:12

$3700 on a laptop, are you crazy?
dngonzales

2006-01-29, 16:16

not certifiably but possiblly
thats also what my wife said ( that it was crazy to spend that amount of money on a laptop )
Luca
ಠ_ರೃ

2006-01-29, 16:18

A few things:

- If you get a powerful laptop, you won't really need an eMac anymore, will you? Just sell it.
- There are other (MUCH cheaper, and faster) ways of transferring files between computers than using an iPod. Like networking.