User Name
Password

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Office 2016
Thread Tools
drewprops
Magnificent Basturd™
sagacious-d
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta
 
2016-01-27, 14:35

Is anybody running this yet?

I have finally started looking at upgrading to the latest OS and updating my major software (Adobe and Microsoft).

A lot of reviews on Amazon indicated that the Mac version of Office 2016 currently lacks a way of customizing the ribbon.

Further reading indicates that functionality is on its way, but no real timetable provided.

I recall how Outlook 2011 was to have improvements made that never transpired, so I'm reticent to make the leap.

So, if anybody has personal experience I'd love to hear it.

Thx!




...

Steve Jobs ate my cat's watermelon.
Captain Drew on Twitter
  quote
Ebby
Subdued and Medicated
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Over Yander
Send a message via AIM to Ebby  
2016-01-27, 14:50

Still working with 2008 versions here. Since compatibility hasn't really been an issue for me, I'd say snag the best copy that suits you now and don't hope for something in the future.

I definitely got my moneys worth but never felt a need to upgrade.

As for Adobe, make sure the new subscription method works for you. I wouldn't because I use that product heavily for 2-3 months of the year and just not worth it. But there are a ton more features then my non-subscription version.

^^ One more quality post from the desk of Ebby. ^^
SSBA | SmockBogger | SporkNET
  quote
kieran
Tweeting @kierankelly
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York City
 
2016-01-27, 15:23

I've got the newest version running with the subscription going as well. I hate paying each month for software, but I deal with way too many things from the newer Windows versions of Office that I need to keep it around.

I will say that Office is much better looking than it used to be.
  quote
drewprops
Magnificent Basturd™
sagacious-d
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta
 
2016-01-27, 16:10

Ebby I'm on CS5.5 and I believe that CS6 was the last non-subscription opportunity.

Kieran are you able to customize the ribbon in all your apps in Office 2016?


...

Steve Jobs ate my cat's watermelon.
Captain Drew on Twitter
  quote
kieran
Tweeting @kierankelly
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York City
 
2016-01-27, 16:48

Honestly, I've never thought to do that, so I never tried until just now. It doesn't appear to be customizable, unless I'm missing a setting buried somewhere.

Right clicking on the ribbon does nothing and none of the toolbars are draggable within the ribbon itself.
  quote
drewprops
Magnificent Basturd™
sagacious-d
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta
 
2016-01-28, 18:52

Well bugger.

There's zero reason for me to use that shite then.



...
  quote
Maciej
M AH - ch ain saw
 
Join Date: May 2004
 
2016-02-07, 12:57

I concur that there does not appear to be a way to customize the ribbon.

I filed a feature request though - so fingers crossed for you.
  quote
Frank777
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
 
2017-08-06, 19:00

The Office Home and Student 2016 Mac card says it's "For 1 Mac".

Does this mean that I can load to on my iMac and MacBook Pro but only use it on one Mac at a time, or am I really limited to loading it on just one machine?
  quote
PB PM
Sneaky Punk
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Send a message via Skype™ to PB PM 
2017-08-06, 20:50

I know on older versions you could get away with it installed on more than one machine, as long as the other wasn't running it, but that was the first version of Office for Mac. We had the family pack for the 2011 version, so it wasn't an issue. After that we switched to iWork, so no clue about 2016. Basically, no guarantees it still lets you get away with that.
  quote
chucker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: near Bremen, Germany
Send a message via ICQ to chucker Send a message via AIM to chucker Send a message via MSN to chucker Send a message via Yahoo to chucker Send a message via Skype™ to chucker 
2017-08-07, 02:14

Quote:
Originally Posted by drewprops View Post
Well bugger.

There's zero reason for me to use that shite then.



...
FWIW, they eventually added that. In 15.17, apparently.

https://support.office.com/en-us/art...6-5fbc0318f499
  quote
turtle
Lord of the Rant.
Formerly turtle2472
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tidewater Virginia
 
2017-08-07, 09:54

It is just like the link you sent chucker. I have Office and was able to verify this. (I don't pay for it, my job provides it to me.)

Louis L'Amour, “To make democracy work, we must be a notion of participants, not simply observers. One who does not vote has no right to complain.”
MineCraft? mc.applenova.com | Visit us! | Maybe someday I'll proof read, until then deal with it.
  quote
drewprops
Magnificent Basturd™
sagacious-d
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta
 
2017-08-07, 18:52

THANK YOU Chucker!!!

And Turtle!!!


...
  quote
Posting Rules Navigation
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Post Reply

Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fitbit 2016 Speculation drewprops Third-Party Products 1 2015-12-01 12:29
Office 2011: It's like Office '08, but bloatier! Kraetos Third-Party Products 73 2010-05-03 16:33
2016 Olympics turbulentfurball AppleOutsider 30 2009-10-02 17:32
Wired: Office for Mac vs. Office for Windows kieran Apple Products 7 2008-01-03 14:32
MS office cyrusmekon Genius Bar 5 2007-10-31 05:53


« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2019, AppleNova