Password
AppleNova Forums » Apple Products »

Switcher's Experience: Phonecall from Apple

Register Members List Calendar Search FAQ Posting Guidelines
Switcher's Experience: Phonecall from Apple
SCG737

2005-01-27, 11:26

Hello all,

I work as a Systems Engineer at a University in Georgia and had been exposed to Mac's since the late 1980's. While I saw their tremendious value in desktop publishing and DV, I was firmly planted in the PC / Open Source camp until the Newton Message Pad 2000. Long story short, I loved that darn thing, and Apple killed it dead.

Anywho, I was pissed after this and resisted all things Apple until I broke down and bought a 12" G4 PB in November 2004...My first real Mac. From the moment I got the PB I have been impressed with my it. From its outstanding packaging, to its technical beauty, to its performance & OS X...I have not been disappointed at all. That was until last night.

So, I'm sitting eating dinner with my wife and the phone rings.

Me: Hello
Apple Rep: Yes is this Mr. xxxxxxxx ?
Me: Yes.
Apple Rep: We understand you purchased an Apple Laptop late last year and we were just following up to make sure its meeting your expertations.
Me: Wow! Uh, Yeah! I've had it for a couple of months now and love it more every day.
Apple Rep: That's great. So no problems at all with the PowerBook?
Me: Well its hardly even noteworthy, but my battery casing doesn't exatly fit flush into the bottom of the PowerBook. No big deal, its mostly cosmetic, and doesn't really bother me at all. Just thought you may want to know.
Apple Rep: Battery huh? Well that's not really my department. In fact I was calling because your Apple Care warranty is about to expire and I would like to offer you an extension for a very attractive price.
Me:Well I'm not really interested, but I appreciate your call.

At first I thought: